Menu

Ostrich Boys

Belgrade Theatre presents

Ostrich Boys

Based on the novel by Keith Gray Adapted by Carl Miller

Saturday 10 to Saturday 24 September 2016

  • Presented at B2 stage
  • Tickets: Adults from £9.50 Under 18s from £7

For Sale

“One of the most brilliantly crafted shows you will see all year” ★★★★★
Coventry Telegraph

How far would you go for your best friend?

At Ross’s funeral, the wrong people are saying the wrong things. Even the music’s wrong. Determined to do “something proper, something real, something Ross would’ve wanted”, his best friends: Kenny, Sim and Blake, decide to do a runner with his ashes. They’re taking him to Ross in Scotland, to fulfil his lifelong wish of being Ross in Ross.

Our teenage heroes embark on an epic mission to honour their friendship and to make sense of what’s happened. Their need to put things right takes them on a chaotic, emotional and often darkly comic, pilgrimage north. Along the way, their unity is threatened as uneasy truths are realised. In this powerful story of loss, hope and the meaning of friendship, will our Ostrich Boys finally start to pull their heads out of the sand?

Adapted by Carl Miller and based on the much-loved book by Keith Gray, this UK premiere of Ostrich Boys is directed by the Belgrade’s multi award-winning Creative Associate, Tony Graham. This action-packed new production sees four actors play multiple roles, on a stunning set in the intimate B2 auditorium.

Contains strong language throughout. Recommended for ages 12+.

Running time: approx 1hr 20mins, no interval.

Sat 10 Sep 8:00pm
Mon 12 Sep 8:00pm Limited Availability
Tue 13 Sep 8:00pm Sold Out
Wed 14 Sep 10:15am
Thu 15 Sep 10:15am
Thu 15 Sep 8:00pm
Fri 16 Sep 1:15pm
Sat 17 Sep 2:15pm
Sat 17 Sep 8:00pm
Tue 20 Sep 10:15am
Wed 21 Sep 1:15pm
Thu 22 Sep 1:15pm
Fri 23 Sep 8:00pm Captioned Performance
Sat 24 Sep 2:15pm Audio Described
Sat 24 Sep 8:00pm

“Worth six stars” ★★★★★

Coventry Telegraph

“superior storytelling”

William Stafford

★★★★

What’s On Live

“wonderful performances”

Love Midlands Theatre

Access Performances:

Captioned: Fri 23 Sept, 8pm
Audio Described: Sat 24 Sept, 2.15pm

blog comments powered by Disqus