Skip to content

Changes to the Belgrade Board of Directors

We have today (Fri 29 Sept) announced changes to our Board of Directors: Interim Chair, Alan Pollock has stepped down with Professor Jonothan Neelands taking up the Chair, alongside Annette Hay as Vice Chair.

Jonothan is Academic Director for Cultural Partnerships for the University of Warwick, and Professor of Creative Education in Warwick Business School. His career has been in theatre, creative education and cultural policy and recently focussed on Coventry and the legacy from UK City of Culture 2021. Jonothan is passionate about arts and culture and the difference they make to our lives. He is committed to the values of the Belgrade as a co-created theatre of learning, transformation and diverse stories.

Annette was recently appointed the Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion at De Montfort University in Leicester. She completed her first Degree in Social Studies at the University of Warwick and later completed her Masters Degree in Leadership and Management at Coventry University. She is also an alumni of Advance HE’s successful, Diversifying Leadership Programme. With a 30-year career in Higher Education, she has been a passionate advocate for the importance, institutional leadership has in tackling racial inequalities and embedding anti-racist practices.

Jonothan and Annette will lead a sixteen strong Board of Trustees including the following who have joined this year:

Jacqui Clements (Charity and Organisational Development Project Director, Coach, Facilitator and Mentor at Jacqui Clements Consulting Ltd); Kerry Radden (Associate Director at Indigo Ltd, with 20 years’ experience in the arts); Corin Crane (CEO of Coventry & Warwickshire Chamber); Harry Banga (Joint MD at Ararna Limited, with over twenty years of experience delivering training and consultancy services); Anjula Thiru (career civil servant with experience in a range of leadership roles delivering services for the public); Karamjit Singh CBE (a senior leader with local, regional and national public sector roles including local government, different parts of the justice system, health , regulation of financial and electoral services), and Anna Williams (a chartered accountant, working in the performing arts and charitable sector since 1994)

They join continuing Board members:

Colin Bell (a Coventry-born producer with over 25 years’ experience in developing and managing participatory arts projects. He has worked nationally and internationally across theatre, comedy, film, dance and music), Jonathan Wilby (a Partner at a Coventry law firm with responsibility for compliance), Rebecca Warwick (a Management Consultant with an interest in change management, growth and the application of technology, in addition to a software start-up), Thanh Sinden (Founder and Lead Consultant at Hoa Lotus with extensive experience in strategic and leadership positions in organisations), and Tyrone Huggins (actor, director and playwright, and Founder of the Impact Theatre Cooperative).

Tony Skipper (recently retired as a senior lecturer at Coventry University Business School) and Roger Bailey (a qualified regional Blue Badge Tourist Guide) continue as City Council Representatives.

Jonothan Neelands said, “I’m delighted to be taking up The Chair of The Belgrade at this very exciting time in the theatre’s long and distinguished history, and leading an incredibly strong team of Trustees who bring a true diversity of energy and experience. We look forward to supporting the leadership team to deliver their creative vision.”

Laura Elliot, Chief Executive said, “I’m delighted with these appointments. Our new Trustees, together with our existing Board represent another step change for the Belgrade’s evolution and will support us drive the organisation into an exciting future. I’d also like to take the opportunity to thank Alan Pollock for serving as interim Chair for these past 8 months, at an incredibly busy time for the organisation.”

Photo information

From left to right sitting;
Anjula Thiru – new Trustee, Jacqui Clements – new Trustee, Laura Elliot, Jonothan Neelands (new Chair), Corey Campbell, Rebecca Warwick, Tyrone Huggins, Annette Hay (New Vice Chair)

Tony Skipper (Council Representative), Thanh Sinden, Colin Bell, Karamjit Singh – new Trustee, Jon Wilby, Kerry Radden – new Trustee, Roger Bailey (Council Representative), Corin Crane– new Trustee.

Not pictured:
Anna Williams – new Trustee
Harry Banga – new Trustee